2015 CMA Nominations Are In

It’s award season here in America and Country Music is geared up for the 49th annual CMA Awards on Novemeber 4, 2015. It’s no surprise that Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood will be returning to host the show for the eighth time. Each year, like all genres do, Country celebrates its stars with a glamourous award show and the CMA Awards are a highlight of the country music year. Steven Tyler and Kelsea Ballerini helped announced the list of nominees on Sept. 9 on Good Morning America. Though some country superstars might’ve been snubbed, there were a few surprises in the bunch. Even Kelsea Ballerini was surprised herself when she announced she’s up for Female Vocalist of the Year, in addition to a New Artist of the Year nod. Just last year, she was sitting at the CMA Awards  in the audience as a fan.

The list of 2015 Country Music Association Awards Nominees (obtained from www.cmaworld.com)

Entertainer of the Year
Garth Brooks
Luke Bryan
Kenny Chesney
Eric Church
Miranda Lambert

Album of the Year (Awarded to Artist and Producers)
Old Boots, New Dirt, Jason Aldean
Pageant Material, Kacey Musgraves
Pain Killer, Little Big Town
The Big Revival, Kenny Chesney
Traveller, Chris Stapleton

Female Vocalist of the Year
Miranda Lambert
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood
Lee Ann Womack
Kelsea Ballerini

Male Vocalist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Blake Shelton
Chris Stapleton

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts
The Band Perry
Zac Brown Band

Song of the Year (Awarded to Songwriters)
“American Kids”, Kenny Chesney (Written by Rodney Clawson, Luke Laird and Shane McAnally)
“Girl Crush”, Little Big Town (Written by Lori McKenna, Hillary Lindsey and Liz Rose)
“Like a Cowboy”, Randy Houser (Written by Randy Houser and Brice Long)
“Like a Wrecking Ball”, Eric Church (Written by Eric Church and Casey Beathard)
“Take Your Time”, Sam Hunt (Written by Sam Hunt, Josh Osborne and Shane McAnally)

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae
Thompson Square

New Artist of the Year
Sam Hunt
Maddie & Tae
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Kelsea Ballerini

Single of the Year (Awarded to Artist and Producer)
“American Kids,” Kenny Chesney (Produced by Buddy Cannon and Kenny Chesney)
“Girl Crush,” Little Big Town (Produced by Jay Joyce)
“I Don’t Dance,” Lee Brice (Produced by Lee Brice)
“Take Your Time,” Sam Hunt (Produced by Zach Crowell and Shane McAnally)
“Talladega,” Eric Church (Produced by Jay Joyce and Arturo Buenahora Jr.)

Musical Event of the Year
Django and Jimmie, Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard
“Lonely Tonight,” Blake Shelton feat. Ashley Monroe
“Raise ‘Em Up,” Keith Urban feat. Eric Church
“Smokin’ and Drinkin’,” Miranda Lambert feat. Little Big Town
“Wild Child,” Kenny Chesney with Grace Potter

Music Video of the Year (Awarded to Artist and Director)
“Biscuits,” Kacey Musgraves (Directed by Marc Klasfeld)
“Girl Crush,” Little Big Town (Directed by Karla Welch and Matthew Welch)
“Girl in a Country Song,” Maddie & Tae (Directed by TK McKamy)
“Little Red Wagon,” Miranda Lambert (Directed by Trey Fanjoy)
“Something in the Water,” Carrie Underwood (Directed by Raj Kapoor)

Musician of the Year
Sam Bush, mandolin
Jerry Douglas, dobro
Paul Franklin, steel guitar
Dann Huff, guitar
Mac McAnally, guitar

There were a few surprises among the bunch as well as a few snubs. One surprise is Kenny Chesney. He’s up for five awards, including one for his song, “American Kids.” Of the artists that didn’t seem to get quite the attention they deserved, Jason Aldean (who’s arguable just as famous as Luke Bryan), was only nominated for one award, leaving him left out of the Entertainer and Male Vocalist noms. Still, the country artist doesn’t have too much to complain about–he’s had sold out shows across the country with three No. 1 singles during the period in which he could have been nominated. One artist that isn’t much of a surprise is Garth Brooks. The country music star sells out shows back to back, earning him top spot in the country music world. He’s nominated for Entertainer of the Year.

The CMA Awards will air live on ABC on November 4, 215 at 8/7c.